The AU-HOA initiative was launched in 2014, in Khartoum, Sudan, in response to the rise of human trafficking and smuggling of migrants in the region. It involves so called ‘core countries’ Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia and Sudan and neighboring countries: Djibouti, Kenya, Somalia and South Sudan. AU-HOAi also partners with Libya, Tunisia, Norway, Italy, Malta, Switzerland, Saudi Arabia and Yemen as well as IOs such as IOM, UNHCR, IGAD and other RECs, Interpol, UNODC, and the League of Arab States.

July - August 2014

The Italian Presidency of the European Union requests the African Union Commission to engage with the African Union Horn of Africa Initiative (AU-HoAI).


Regular consultations and dialogue among Ambassadors/ Permanents Representatives of the four countries in Addis Ababa with IOM and UNHCR joining, and the AUC as the secretariat

November 2012

Engagement of core countries (Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia and Sudan) in response to the incidents of human trafficking, abduction and abuses of nationals from countries in the Horn/East Africa region in the Sinai and Yemen deserts.